Jones, Upperman elected to 2024-25 BIF board

Posted June 25, 2024

The Beef Improvement Federation announced new directors and officers June 12 during the group’s annual symposium in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Gordon Jones, Lafayette, Tennessee, was introduced as the 2024-25 BIF president during the Wednesday awards luncheon. Gordon Hodges, Hamptonville, North Carolina, is the new vice president.

Directors elected to serve on the BIF board were breed association representatives Lindsay Upperman, Red Angus Association of American, and Bruce Holmquist, Canadian Simmental Association. Matt Woolfolk, American Shorthorn Association, was reelected to serve another term as a breed association representative. Casey Worrell, Harper, Texas, was elected to the board as a central region director and Brad Wolter, Aviston, Illinois, was elected as an at-large director.

More than 500 beef producers, academia and industry representatives attended the organization’s 56th Annual Research Symposium and Convention in Knoxville. BIF’s mission is to help improve the industry by promoting greater acceptance of beef cattle performance evaluation.

For more information about this year’s symposium, including award winners and video archives of the symposium, visit Mark your calendars for the 2025 BIF Symposium which will be hosted June 9-12, 2025, in Amarillo, Texas.

Beef Improvement Federation board of directors 2024-2025 Beef Improvement Federation Board of Directors (seated, from left) are Gordon Jones, Lafayette, Tenn., president; Gordon Hodges, Hamptonville, N.C., vice president; Kevin Schultz, Haviland, Kan., past president; Bob Weaber, Kansas State University, BIF executive director; Matt Spangler, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, USDA Extension Service representative; Megan Rolf, Kansas State University, BIF central region secretary; Troy Rowan, University of Tennessee, BIF eastern region secretary; and Michaela Clowser, National Cattlemen’s Beef Association. Back row (l to r) are: Joe Epperly, Wamego, Kansas; Lindsay Upperman, Red Angus Association of America; Johnny Rogers, Roxboro, North Carolina; Ken Odde, Pollock, South Dakota; Bruce Holmquist, Canadian Simmental Association; Shane Bedwell, American Hereford Association; Casey Worrell, Harper, Texas; Craig Hays, Pierce, Colorado; Warren Snelling, USDA Ag Research Service representative; Robert Williams, Kansas City, Missouri, historian; John Irvine, Manhattan, Kan.; Matt Woolfolk, American Shorthorn Association; and Kelli Retallick-Riley, American Angus Association. Not pictured are Mark Enns, Colorado State University, BIF western region secretary; Lorna Marshall, NAAB representative; and Jackie Atkins, American Simmental Association.