The Red Angus Association of America has a number of active committees. These committees exist to provide input to the staff and the Board, and represent one of our Association’s most valuable resources. All members are encouraged to contact the committee members with your ideas and suggestions. By working together we can continue to keep Red Angus the progressive, innovative breed association that has led the industry since its foundation in 1954.

2021 Committee Assignments

Mission: The mission of the RAAA Registration Committee is to review, evaluate and advance the rules, regulations and policies that record, register and objectively describe Red Angus and Red Angus-influenced cattle. Guided by the Strategic Plan and Core Policies, the Committee makes recommendations to the Board of Directors regarding the Red Angus database, often collaborating with other committees.

Steven Rogers, Chair
Stephanie Jung
Susan Schuler
Jeff Pettit, BD
Kim Harms
Jessica Yance 
Jennifer Grimes
Bruce Ketchum
Brian Axtell
Halla Pfeiff, Staff
Kenda Ponder, Staff


Mission: The Red Angus marketing committee shall have as its purpose the goal of identifying and developing commercial cattle marketing programs. To compliment this, it is also the goal of the marketing committee to develop and implement education programs for any current or newly proposed commercial marketing programs.

Steve Koester, Chair, BD
Michael Watkins
Tony Ballinger, BD
Clint Berry
Mark Burchfield
Anthony Rossi
Bryce Risa
Bryan Gill
Mark Meisinger
Raymond Prescott
Craig Bieber
Ryan Ludvigson
Harold Bertz, Staff
Katie Martin, Staff
Nolan Woodruff, Staff

Mission: Oversee the development and maintenance of the Association’s Bylaws so they are clear, concise, and effective in guiding the operation of the association; providing interpretation of its meaning when needed; and recognizing the need for amendment in order to keep the association current, relevant, and responsive to positive change.

Rob Hess, Chair, BD
John Langdon
Steve Andras
Melvin Leland
Kim Ford
Dan Stickel
Newley Hutchison, BD
Don Ferrill
Tom Brink, CEO

Mission: The purpose of the Show and Sale Committee is to be responsible for the development of rules and regulations assuring that the Red Angus breed is properly represented and displayed in a manner that promotes integrity and reflects the effective and progressive use of quality Red Angus genetics.

Stuart Gilbert, Chair, BD
Johnnie Cundiff
Charles Lewis
Brian Shuter
David Dickerson
Tom Bell 
JC Andras
Scott Bayer
Chessie Mitchell, Staff

Mission: To effectively tell the Red Angus story using sound science and real-world beef production to advance the Red Angus Association of America as a trusted source of information and genetics for the beef industry.

Kay Klompien, Chair, BD 
Karen Raisland
Lori White
Celeste Settrini
Anne Kimmey
Kelly Massey
Cody Halfmann
Connie Mushrush,BD
Steven Rogers
Brandi Buzzard Frobose, Staff
Tracey Koester, Staff


Mission: The Breed Improvement Committee serves as the catalyst for developing and delivering tools designed to improve the genetics of Red Angus and Red Angus-influenced cattle. The committee relies upon the RAAA Strategic Plan, directives from the RAAA Board of Directors, and interaction with RAAA stakeholders for guidance in determining the areas of emphasis and prioritization. Resulting recommendations are presented to the RAAA Board of Directors for final approval and guidance for implementation.

Will Andras, Chair
Craig Bieber
Butch Schuler
Jason Anderson 
Tyler Sonstegard
Kelli Brown
Mark Harms
Jim Yance, BD
Daniel Mushrush
Ryan Boldt, Staff
Fallon Flick, Staff


Mission: To equip and prepare all JRA stakeholders to be leaders,
innovators, stewards and advocates for the Red Angus breed, the beef
industry and agriculture.

Aaron Kravig, BD, Chair 
Susan Smydra
Tim Prather
Chris Pierce
Philip Berg
Marie Linnell
Kyley DeVoe,
Kim Heller, Staff


Jeff Pettit, BD, Chair
Ross Knott
George Murdock
Sarah Jones
Ernest Christian
Kelli Brown, RAFI
Tom Brink, Staff
Janet Russell, Staff


Kevin Miller, Chair
Dr. Mark Enns
Gordon Jones
Bob Weaber
Donnell Brown
Brian Brigham
Kyle Caires
Tad Sonstegard
Sam Lorenzen, BD
Ryan Boldt, Staff
Frank Wedel, Chair
Tom Woodward
Joe Mushrush
John Butler
Mary Ann Kniebel
CJ Blew
Jason Anderson
John Langdon
Harold Bertz, Staff
Barrett Simon, Staff


Kelli Brown, Chair
Sam Lorenzen,BD
Johnny Rogers, BD
Kyley DeVoe
John Langdon
C.J. Blew
Tony Bryant
Kevin Miller
Craig Bieber
Ryan Ludvigson
Butch Schuler
Sarah Jones
Steven Rogers
Ross Knott
Tom Brink, CEO
Harold Bertz, Staff
Ryan Boldt, Staff
Brandi Buzzard Frobose, Staff
Halla Pfeiff, Staff
Sam Lorenzen, BD Chair
Kay Klompien, BD
Rob Hess, BD
Brandi Buzzard Frobose, Staff
Chessie Mitchell, Staff
Halla Pfeiff, Staff
Chuck Feddes, BD, Chair
Kyley DeVoe
Tena Ketchum
Steve Andras
Raymond Prescott
Keith Hickle
Gary Jacobson
Brandi Buzzard Frobose, Staff
Bob Hough, President 
Kelli Brown
Blake Angell
Frank Wedel
Scott Ford
Cam Forbes
Kay Klompien, BD