Distinguished Producers Honored at Red Angus Association of America Awards Banquet

Posted September 25, 2017

Denver – Immeasurable passion, time and devotion are common denominators on all esteemed cattle farms and ranches. The producers who rise above the rest are dedicated to pushing boundaries and extracting the maximum return on investment from their cattle. The Red Angus Association of America honored these superior producers at its 64th annual awards banquet in Colorado Springs, Colorado, on Sept. 15, 2017.

The Breeder of the Year Award is presented to members who maintain an excellent standard of quality in breeding Red Angus cattle. Red Hill Farms, owned by Bart, Sarah and Ty Jones and Gordon and Susan Jones of Lafayette, Tennessee, is this year’s winner of the prestigious Breeder of the Year Award. The Jones family has a long history of promoting Red Angus in their region and have never wavered on their commitment to utilize data to aggressively select for economically relevant traits and deliver greater profitability to their commercial customers. Red Hill Farms believes in the “More Than Just a Bull” philosophy and stays engaged with their customers through continued education and outreach programs. Additionally, the family is repeatedly a leader in volunteerism through committee service, event hosting and advocacy for the Red Angus breed.

The Pioneer Breeder of the Year award honors long-time members of the RAAA who have maintained quality and excellence in their herds through diligent breeding practices. This year’s recipient is Croissant Red Angus, operated by Larry and Jean Croissant and Kevin, Sallie and Alisa Miller of Briggsdale, Colorado. The Croissant family is committed to raising efficient, maternal-based cattle that are functionally correct. The Croissants strive to positively impact the environment and beef industry through their ranching practices and maintain strict adherence to culling all open females, regardless of the reason for failure to breed. This disciplined approach has enhanced their cattle’s fertility and earned their program distinction and credibility from their customers.

The Commercial Producer of the Year award is presented to producers who successfully utilize Red Angus genetics on their farm or ranch. Recipients also have demonstrated a history of employing Red Angus commercial marketing tools, such as the Feeder Calf Certification Program, to add increased value to their calf crop. The Blew Partnership of Castleton, Kansas, is this year’s Commercial Producer of the Year. CJ and Beckie Blew, along with Russell Blew, own and operate the partnership, which started in 2001 and has grown exponentially as they’ve focused on producing moderate-framed females that combine fertility and longevity while efficiently managing their available natural resources. The Blews market their high-quality replacement females through the fall sale at 5L Red Angus. Additionally, they have participated in FCCP since 2002 and have won multiple Grid Master awards.

The Red Angus Association of America serves the beef industry by enhancing and promoting the competitive advantages of Red Angus and Red Angus-influenced cattle. The RAAA provides commercial producers with the most objectively described cattle in the industry by seeking and implementing new technologies based on sound, scientific principles that measure traits of economic importance. For more information, visit


For more information, contact:
Brandi Buzzard Frobose, Communications Coordinator 
(785) 448-0239 •


High-resolution photos are available at the following links:

Breeder of the Year

Johnny Rogers (left) presented Red Hill Farms of Lafayette, Tennessee with the Breeder of the Year Award. Ty, Sarah and Bart Jones (l to r).

Pioneer Breeder of the Year

Cam Forbes (left), presented the Pioneer Breeder of the Year award to Croissant Red Angus of Briggsdale, Colorado. Accepting the award was (l to r) Larry and Jean Croissant and Kevin Miller.

Commercial Producer of the Year
Beckie and CJ Blew of Castleton, Kansas, received the Commercial Producer of the Year award from Kevin Miller (right).