Ford Honored with Red Angus Leadership Award

Posted October 9, 2023

DENVER — Kim Ford of Bertrand, Nebraska, received the Melvin Leland Innovative Leadership Award from the Red Angus Association of America. She was recognized at the 70th National Red Angus Convention Awards Banquet on Friday, Sept. 15, 2023. RAAA Past President Bob Morton presented the award.

Leadership in the beef industry is customary for Ford. She served as RAAA president from 2014 to 2016, joining her mother as one of the only three women presidents. Ford received the RAAA John V. Robbins Distinguished Service Award in 2019. She was also recognized by Cattle Business Weekly as one of the 10 Most Influential People in the Beef Industry Under the Age of 40 in 2013.

Ford has served on multiple RAAA committees and worked with members to improve the breed and the association. She has earned the respect of several across the beef industry and Red Angus breed due to her faith and resilience.

“Having a lifelong passion for Red Angus, Kim Ford’s leadership has demonstrated her vision to enhance the breed through unselfish service,” said RAAA Past President Melvin Leland of Sidney, Montana. “She was an innovative leader during her presidency and continues to have guided discernment on issues that affect Red Angus and its breeders.”

In 2013, Scott and Kim Ford, Cross Diamond Cattle Co., received the Breeder of the Year Award. The Fords are dedicated to raising top-quality Red Angus genetics along with providing additional assistance and support to other producers. Their breeding program is based on sound, efficient, fertile and docile cattle. They prioritize fertility, structural soundness and disposition.

Along with helping current producers, the Fords have been encouraging and educating young Red Angus breeders as frequent presenters for the Learn from the Best group. This program invites established and successful breeders to share knowledge and insight to young seedstock producers.

The Melvin Leland Innovative Leadership Award is awarded when an individual is deemed worthy. Members or individuals of RAAA who have had a positive impact on the association through serving in a leadership role are recognized. Qualifying candidates have served on an RAAA committee for at least five years and preferably were previous recipients of the John V. Robbins Distinguished Service Award.

For more information about the Red Angus Association of America or marketing programs for Red Angus-influenced cattle, visit

The Red Angus Association of America serves the beef industry by enhancing and promoting the measurable advantages of Red Angus and Red Angus-influenced cattle. The RAAA provides commercial producers with objectively described cattle by implementing new technologies and using scientifically sound principles that quantify traits of economic importance to beef producers in all segments of the beef industry. For more information, visit



High-resolution photos are available at the following links:

Photo link
Suggested cutline: Kim Ford, Bertrand, Nebraska, received the Melvin Leland Innovative Leadership Award presented by Bob Morton, RAAA past president.

Oct. 10, 2023

For more information, contact:
Lisa Bryant, Director of Communications