Nominations now open for annual Red Angus awards

Posted March 20, 2024

The National Red Angus Convention is fast approaching and as part of the convention, our annual awards winners will be recognized in Lincoln. If you would like to nominate members and/or producers for an award listed below, email their name and nomination summary to Halla Ramsey or Stephanie Jung, awards committee chair. Nominations should be submitted by April 21 for consideration by the committee. Be sure to join us in Lincoln, Nebraska, Sept. 11-13 to see who takes home the honors!

Breeder of the Year Award — Recognizes members who maintain an excellent standard of quality in breeding Red Angus cattle.

Commercial Producer of the Year Award — Recognizes producers who successfully use Red Angus genetics on their farm or ranch. Recipients also have demonstrated a history of employing Red Angus commercial marketing tools, such as the Feeder Calf Certification Program, to add increased value to their calf crop.

John V. Robbins Distinguished Service — Recognizes Red Angus members or individuals of RAAA who have contributed to the betterment of services offered by the association or anyone who has contributed time or talents to enhance the services provided by RAAA to its members. Recipients are not required to be RAAA members.

Melvin Leland Innovative Leadership Award — Recognizes Red Angus members or individuals of RAAA who have had a positive impact on the association through serving in a leadership role. Qualifying candidates should have served on an RAAA committee(s) for at least five years and preferably were previous recipients of the John V. Robbins Distinguished Service award. Awarded when deemed worthy.

Pioneer Breeder of the Year Award — Recognizes and honors longtime members of the Red Angus Association of America who have maintained quality and excellence in their herds through diligent breeding practices.

Advocate of the Year — Recognizes a special Red Angus member or commercial producer who passionately expresses support of the Red Angus breed to seedstock producers, commercial producers, industry partners and/or consumers.

Industry Service Award — Recognizes an individual, company, beef industry association or academic community who has helped RAAA achieve excellence in the beef cattle industry during the past year or more.

Outstanding Junior Red Angus Member — Recognizes an outstanding JRA member who has contributed his or her services to the betterment of JRA throughout the past year.

Darrell and Mary Lou Schuler Memorial Award — Recognizes outstanding advocates for financial and/or fiscal responsibility within RAAA. The award recognizes individuals who have led efforts or given significant contributions through their gifts (be it monetary or otherwise) to advance the long-term mission of our breed and its philosophies. Awarded when deemed worthy.