Top-Performing Cattle Earn Prestigious Grid Master Award

Posted October 1, 2019

DENVER –The Grid Master Award, an honor bestowed by the Red Angus Association of America, is earned by operations that have successfully combined high-performing Red Angus genetics, skillful feeding and precise marketing to achieve success with the slaughter of superior beef carcasses. Nolan Woodruff, Red Angus Association of America commercial marketing specialist, announced the recipients of the 2019 Grid Master Awards at the 66th annual National Red Angus Convention held Sept. 11-13, 2019, in Dubuque, Iowa.

“The Grid Master Award program has a rich history of recognizing the top producers of high quality carcass cattle. These producers have bred cattle that excel in the industry, both in quality and yield. This year's winners raised the bar with more prime carcasses than ever before in the history of Grid Master,” said Harold Bertz, RAAA director of commercial marketing.

To be named a Grid Master, entries must be Red Angus or Red Angus-influenced cattle enrolled in the RAAA’s Feeder Calf Certification Program or the Allied Access tag program, and must achieve a specified level of carcass excellence. The program is open to both conventionally and naturally fed cattle.

Conventionally fed Red Angus cattle must be marketed in lots of at least 30 head, reach a minimum of 90 percent Choice and Prime and have a maximum of 5 percent Yield Grade 4s.

Naturally fed Red Angus cattle must also be marketed in lots of at least 30 head, achieve 90 percent Choice and Prime, with a maximum of 10 percent Yield Grade 4s.

Firms receiving Grid Master honors include the following:

Conventionally Fed Division

  • Victor Miller, Halfway, Missouri, fed at Tiffany Cattle Co., Marquette, Kansas.
  • JYJ Red Angus, Columbia, Alabama, fed at Finney County Feedyard, Garden City, Kansas.
  • Hayes Red Angus, Jetmore, Kansas, fed at Boot Hill Feeders in Jetmore, Kansas.
  • H-F Red Angus, Abilene, Kansas, fed at Cow Camp Feedlot in Ramona, Kansas.
  • John Shannon, Kim, Colorado, fed by Schleing Genetics, Ault, Colorado.
  • Lorenzen Ranches Inc., Bend, Oregon, fed at Simplot Feeders.
  • Hueftle Cattle Co., Cozad, Nebraska, earned Grid Master honors on five loads, home fed.
  • DeLong Ranches Inc., Winnemucca, Nevada, fed at Whitham Farm Feedyard, Leoti, Kansas.
  • Anderson Land & Cattle Co., Oberlin, Kansas, earned Grid Master honors on three loads, home fed.
  • Pelton Red Angus, Burdett, Kansas, fed by Anderson Land & Cattle Co., Oberlin, Kansas.
  • Ammann Red Angus Ranch, Wilmot, South Dakota, fed by Gary Vandiver, Camden, Missouri.
  • Prairie Dog Creek Cattle, LLC., Dresden, Kansas, home fed.
  • Phillips Ranch, Selden, Kansas, fed by Stephens Farms Inc., Menlo, Kansas.

Naturally Fed Division

  • Leon Tuttle, Gove, Kansas, fed at High Choice Feeders, Scott City, Kansas.
  • Dan Otley, Princeton, Oregon, fed by Simplot Feeders.
  • Yarborough Ranches, Alpine, Texas, fed at Cattlemen’s Choice Feedyard, Gage, Oklahoma.
  • Otley Bros. Inc., Diamond, Oregon, fed by Beef Northwest Feeders.
  • Rossi Ranches, Paulina, Oregon, fed by Beef Northwest Feeders.
  • Hoffman Farms, Dale and Bryon Hoffman, Graettinger, Iowa, home fed.

For those who would like additional information on the Grid Master Award program, or to learn more about the Red Angus-specific marketing grids and the FCCP program, please contact Nolan Woodruff at or (805) 861-0996.


The Red Angus Association of America serves the beef industry by enhancing and promoting the measurable advantages of Red Angus and Red Angus-influenced cattle. The RAAA provides commercial producers with objectively described cattle by implementing new technologies and utilizing scientifically sound principles that quantify traits of economic importance to beef producers in all segments of the beef industry. For more information, visit



For more information, contact:
Brandi Buzzard Frobose, Director of Communications 
(785) 448-0239 •

High-resolution photos are available at the following links:

Suggested Cutline:

Grid Master_Conventional_2019_rgb
Winners of the Grid Master Award were recognized at the 66th National Red Angus Convention in Dubuque, Iowa, on Sept. 13, 2019.