Top Producers Exemplify Innovation and Improvement​

Posted October 10, 2022

DENVER – Red Angus producers who have embraced innovation and progress to improve the breed, as well as the beef industry, were recognized during the 69th annual National Red Angus Convention during the annual awards banquet on Sept. 16, 2022, in Kalispell, Montana. Honorees are selected by their peers and must have a record of excellence, quality and passion.

The Breeder of the Year Award recognizes members who have contributed to and maintained an excellent standard of quality in breeding Red Angus cattle. Recipients exhibit notable success and longevity in their operations.

This year’s recipients are Bruce and Tena Ketchum of Milk Creek Reds. The Ketchums have been applauded for their commitment to genetic improvement and servanthood, as well as their willingness to promote education within the industry by hosting groups for field days discussing AI, genetics, rotational grazing and working in tandem with nature to raise high-quality Red Angus cattle.

The Pioneer Breeder of the Year Award honors long-time members of the RAAA who over the years have maintained the quality and excellence of their herds through diligent breeding practices - always keeping Red Angus cattle at the forefront of their breeding efforts.

This year’s recipient is 5L Red Angus, owned by Larry and Lisa Mehlhoff. The Mehlfhoffs have relentlessly pursued genetic and phenotypic excellence through both research and practical stockmanship to increase quality and profits for their customers. Customers have applauded their ability to breed cattle that set themselves apart from the rest from a fertility and fleshing ability perspective.

The Commercial Producer of the Year Award is presented to producers who beneficially use Red Angus genetics on their farm or ranch. Recipients also have demonstrated a history of employing Red Angus commercial marketing tools, such as the Feeder Calf Certification Program, to add increased value to their calf crop.

This year’s recipients were Bridger Creek Ranch and Northern Lites Red Angus.

Bridger Creek Ranch, owned by Terry and JoAnn Terland and Rusty and Barb Terland, has long focused on maternal, growth and carcass characteristics, which they achieve through diligent bull selection and value-added practices. They are longtime users of the Red Angus Feeder Calf Certification Program which allows them to capitalize on marketing premiums for their replacement females and feeder cattle, and recently topped the sale at Superior Livestock's Big Horn Classic sale in Sheridan, Wyoming.

Northern Lites Red Angus, owned by Bryce Risa and Lee Risa, has risen to the top when it comes to raising high-performance, Top Dollar Angus-qualified cattle demanded by feeders. Additionally, Northern Lites capitalizes on Red Angus premiums backed up by the Red Navigator program to produce high-quality replacements. Their presence has been noticeable for several decades and seedstock producers appreciate the competition they bring on sale day.


The Red Angus Association of America serves the beef industry by enhancing and promoting the measurable advantages of Red Angus and Red Angus-influenced cattle. The RAAA provides commercial producers with objectively described cattle by implementing new technologies and utilizing scientifically sound principles that quantify traits of economic importance to beef producers in all segments of the beef industry. For more information, visit




September 29, 2022

For more information, contact:
Brandi Buzzard Frobose, Director of Communications 
(785) 448-0239 •


High-resolution photos are available at the following links:
Suggested Cutline:

Bruce and Tena Ketchum, right, of Milk Creek Reds were honored as the Breeder of the Year. John Langdon, left, presented the award.

Pioneer Breeder
Larry Mehlhoff, right, of 5L Red Angus, received the Pioneer Breeder of the Year Award, as presented by Bruce Ketchum.

Northern Lites_Commercial
Bryce Risa, left, of Northern Lites Red Angus, was recognized as Commercial Producer of the Year. Melvin Leland, right, presented the award.